To whom it may concern;

I write to you in respect of your work in reviewing the boundaries for the forthcoming Local Elections in 2019.

The primary focus of my submission is on the North Inner City electoral area but will also include views relating to the area of the Dublin West Dail Constituency involving the Navan Road and the Ballymun electoral area.

In arriving at the main aspects of my submission, I have included the areas of Ashtown A, Ashtown B and the Phoenix Park in addition to the District Electoral Divisions that make up the Dail constituency of Dublin Central. By doing so, the total number of persons residing in this area is 128,508. With an average of 8,802 population per member, it is my view that the combined area is entitled to 14.6 seats.

In drafting my own submission, I conscious of Point 4 of the Terms of Reference for Committee No. 2 which will examine the electoral boundaries of Dublin City. It is my firm belief that the best way to ensure the terms of reference are adhered to is keep the communities of their North Inner City in one specific electoral area. The importance in maintaining a single electoral area for the North Inner City is reiterated by the Government's establishment of a task force headed up by Mr. Michael Stone and backed by the Department of the Taoiseach, Dublin City Council and other states agencies to address problems of deprivation and to oversee the effective regeneration of the areas located within the North Inner City. Should the electoral area of the North Inner City be split at this stage, it is likely that its representations will be heavily diluted by other areas with which it is associated. It is my strong view that the communities of the North Inner City should continue to have seven locally based advocates working on their behalf in conjunction with the North Inner City Taskforce and other areas of Government policy as outlined in Point 5 of your terms of reference.

Given the area of the North Inner City has a population justifying 8.29 seats, it is clear the part of the existing area will have to be allocated elsewhere. Therefore, I am suggesting that the district electoral divisions of North Dock A, which has a population 1,365 and North Dock B which has a population of 7,695 be transferred to an alternative electoral area. These two areas are not included in the specific area ear-marked within the special taskforce established in line with Government policy in 2016 to oversee the regeneration of the North Inner City.

In my view, the classic definition of the North Inner City involved the area between the River Liffey and the North Circular Road (R101). Within this area includes:

- Arran Quay A, B, C, D and E: 1.91 seats with a population 16,824.
- Inns Quay A, B and C: 1.17 seats with a population of 10,342.
- Rotunda A and B: 0.96 seats with a population of 8,423.
- North City: 0.64 seats with a population of 5,654.
- Mountjoy A and B: 1.06 seats with a population of 9,352.
- North Dock C; 0.48 seats with a population of 4,214.

In total, this area merits 6.22 seats. I also believe that the two district electoral divisions of Ballybough A and Ballybough B with a population of 7,416 are an intricate part of the communities that make up the North Inner City, although being located north of the North Circular Road. Furthermore, these two district electoral divisions are located within the defined area of the Government's specific taskforce overseeing the regeneration of the North Inner City. I would add that given the proximity of the Drumcondra South B district electoral division with its population of 1,697 to the Ballybough area, that it should also be included in the North Inner City electoral area.

Therefore, I suggest that the North Inner City electoral area be maintained without the district electoral divisions of North Dock A and North Dock B. This would mean that such an electoral area for the communities of the North Inner City would have representatives elected at the next Local Elections for Dublin City.

It is my belief that the two district electoral divisions removed from the electoral area of the North Inner City would be associated with a Clontarf based electoral area. Committee members may be familiar with the precedent that was set for this back in the late 1980s and early 1990s when the districts of East Wall and the North Strand were included in the Dail Consitituency, at the time, of Dublin North Central.

With regards to the Navan Road currently located within the Dail Constituency of Dublin West and included within the current electoral area of Cabra-Finglas, I believe this area should form part of a revised Cabra-Glasnevin electoral area. Such an electoral area in my view would consist of Ashtown A and Ashtown B, Botanic A, Botanic B and Botanic C, Cabra West A, Cabra West B, Cabra West C and Cabra West D, Cabra East A, Cabra East B, Cabra East C and Cabra East D, Drumcondra South C and the Phoenix Park. Given the average population per member, I believe that this Cabra-Glasnevin electoral area should have 6 representatives elected at the 2019 Local Elections. The Committee could also include the district electoral division of Drumcondra South A in order to ensure that Point 5 of the terms of reference for Committee No.2 are adhered. This as you know relates to the alignment of local electoral areas with Dail constituency boundaries.

In putting forward the views contained in this submission, I believe the proposals adhere to the various terms of reference for the work of Committee No. 2. In particular;

- Ensuring that the electoral areas include no less than five representatives but no more than seven.
- That communities are being maintained and preserving that identity of North Inner City communities and having regard to Government policy and initiatives.
- Aligning local electoral area boundaries with that of Dail constituency boundaries.

I wish the members of Committee No. 2 well in their deliberations and respectfully ask that they consider carefully the proposals outlined above.

Yours sincerely

Brendan Kernan